Friday’s Guest: David Heinemeier Hansson Creator of Ruby on Rails

Friday’s guest will be David Heinemeier Hansson (@DHH), creator of Ruby on Rails, partner at 37signals, guest speaker and author.  David originally got involved with 37signals just by answering a few blog questions Jason Fried had about Signal vs. Noise.  After being hired he worked in Copenhagen for 2 years and finished his bachelor’s degree from Copenhagen Business School before coming to the US.  His first project at 37signals was Basecamp, which was one of the first projects developed using Ruby on Rails.

Not only is he the creator of Ruby on Rails he won best Hacker of the Year 2005 at OSCON from Google and O’Reilly for his work on Rails.

As an author he has written three books, Getting Real, Agile Web Development with Rails and his just released Rework.  If you are interested in checking out some of his work Getting Real has a free online version.

He is an avid guest speaker,one of his more famous speeches was at Startup School ’08 and he has spoken many times at RailsConf.

When: March 19, 2010 1pm (pacific), 4pm (eastern), 9pm (London), 8am (Sydney, March 20th)

more episodes